top of page

Workout Progress - 1 month


January 2021 I decided to take on the challenge of taking care of my body. I wasn't happy or healthy, and rarely did things "just for me" related to my physical health. I am pretty good at preaching to incorporate self-care into your routine, but it wasn't until I joined Madeline Moves Tighter Together challenge that I realized it was the self-care I was missing in my life.


Why I look so sad in the 1 month photo, I have no idea, so please just ignore how uncomfortable I look (lol), but regardless of these side-by-side comparison photos, I felt so much better than I could have imagined I ever would.


Also I know these shorts are terribly unflattering but that is on purpose. I chose the tightest low-rise running shorts I had in my closet, because I knew that when I could get these to look semi-flattering on my body was the day that my workouts had truly changed my body to be in peak physical shape! These shorts may never fit me, and I may have to graduate to a different (perhaps a more appropriately-fitting pair?) at some point, but for now, these are the standard I am using. They take any fat I may have on my body and push it to all the wrong places to make me look awful, but that is how I know I am making progress, ha! Any-who:

These pictures are rather ~embarrassing~ to show, and I was pretty reluctant to share them with the public, but my gosh, even if the progress physically is not where I want it to be, I am a much happier person because of this program of course, but more so just moving my body and feeling how strong I can be.


I never imagined strength training would be the thing to shrink my belly fat, but is doing wonders for my physical and mental health. I feel like a brand new person, and so much healthier.


I am so proud of the progress I have made working out just 4 days a week sometimes.


Changes I have noticed in this first month:

  • I feel happier

  • I sleep better

  • I have more energy

  • I make better food choices

  • I truly feel strong

  • I feel more confident

  • I actually enjoy when I get to work out now

  • My physical progress does not compare to my mental progress

Things I want to work on this month:

  • Getting through the workouts with less rest time

  • Challenging myself to lift heavier

  • Adding on more days and/or get better at still working out before or after my 12+ hour shifts

  • Eating cleaner and more intuitively

  • Becoming more comfortable working out (aka: actually going to the gym to do the workouts rather than at home)

Overall, this month has been one of transformation, and I look forward to seeing further progress as I make this habit an even more prioritized part of my routine. If you haven't already, I absolutely recommend you go follow Madeline on instagram; she can be found at the handle: @madelinemoves. She has the best workouts, motivation, and realistic & healthy approach to nutrition and exercise, and she is one of my favorite follows.


If you haven't today, I encourage to get moving*; it will make you feel so much better!

(*and by get moving, that can mean just a light walk, it does not have to be anything excessive.)


I am proud of you, because even reading this post, hitting that follow button on health accounts, on instagram, or getting up and doing one thing for your physical/mental health is a step towards a healthier version of yourself, a version we all deserve to see.

 

If there is anything you take away from this post, I hope that you feel encouraged to not just follow any health & fitness account on instagram. I hope that you actively seek out people on social media that promote healthy relationships with exercise & nutrition, that uplift you & motivated you, and that are run by people who truly have your best interests in mind as their follower, and not just their own.


If you need help finding these accounts, I encourage you to reach out to me and we will find accounts that will be beneficial for you. I will also be doing a blog post on this topic, as it is something I am so passionate about.

 

I am here to support you on your wellness journey, wherever you may be starting from.


you are blessed. you are gifted. you are loved and appreciated, just as you are.


mindfully, molli

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page