top of page

Confidence // Humility

Updated: Apr 5, 2020

Confidence // Humility, are they really all that different? I purposely put those two lines between these words, as often we think of them as very separate or opposing qualities. To say "she has so much confidence" often implies an inflated ego, while "she has so much humility" implies a lack of that ego altogether. But personally I think the two go hand-in-hand; in fact I feel you cannot have the quality of humility without confidence and vice versa.

Now I have to admit, I looked through my camera roll as I was writing this blog post for a cute picture of me where I felt confident and cute. I wanted to find some picture that was edited to my perfect standards to expectations of a time when I felt confident in myself; but then I realized that defeats the whole purpose of this post. I took this picture right now, as I was writing this post and decided not to filter it or touch it up at all. Humble enough to know that I have flaws and am far from perfection, very evident enough to me in this picture alone, confident enough to put it out there knowing that no matter if people say hurtful things, it won't have the power to change the image and confidence I have in myself.


That girl in that picture up there (me lol) feels insecure a lot of the time. A nursing student who feels so unqualified to be there, yet totally deserves to be because I am competent and worked my butt off to get here. A young woman who feels inadequate compared to a lot my classmates, friends, and airbrushed and perfect women on social media that seem to have it all together, yet is beautiful inside and out because God made me this way. And lastly a daughter and sister who often does not do the right or kind things for my family when I get stressed and take it out on them when I am really just frustrated with myself, yet a wonderful daughter and sister anyway.


I think a point needs to be made that some of the most confident-appearing people you know have insecurities just like you. Many times over-confident people are the most insecure inside. So many people I know are SO INSECURE, and I just want to scream "girl, why?!" because I admire so many of the things they are not confident in. We all have insecurities, but girl, YOU ROCK! I do not know who you are or where you are at in your life, but just know this: You deserve to be there just as much as anyone else. God put you there to fulfill a purpose. You are not taking up space, but are an essential and vital addition to the space you occupy. You deserve to feel confident and comfortable, because you are amazing and spectacular, and anyone who makes you feel less than any of these things is garbage and should be immediately removed from your life because girl, you deserve positivity. You deserve to be treated like the queen you are. Yes, you are a queen and you are so special, and please do not settle for spaces, people, or situations that make you feel like you are not.


On that note however, the highest form of confidence is humbleness. You see, beautiful and exceptional things (aka you and me) do not ask for people to notice their beauty and awesomeness, but they simply are who/what they are, and people notice them, because they are breathtaking and inspiring. Do not beg people to notice you, but simply be yourself, and I promise you, your breathtaking and inspiring self will draw all the right people, and not only will they notice you, but they will stop to admire you for the masterpiece that you are. Stay confident my friend, but more importantly, stay humble.


you are blessed. you are gifted. you are loved and appreciated, just as you are.


mindfully, molli


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page