top of page

5 staples for everyone's closet

As a simplistic girl when it comes to fashion I have always tried to find staple pieces to add to my closet. You see, I hate spending money. Like literally hate it. I budget and my parents taught me how to manage money, how to save while also allowing myself to live without being tied to my bank account, and I am so grateful for that! That is the thing about staple pieces though, is that they are versatile, and will be long-term pieces in your wardrobe. To me, good pieces of clothing are worth the investment. So many people look far and wide for good quality closet staples, so I thought I would share mine with you all. These are the five pieces I know and love, and that I think would make an excellent addition to anyone's closet.

 

If you want any of these items, or any item you see on my instagram feed, they are all linked in the Shop My Style tab on the top of this website. For the five pieces talked about in this post, click on the heading to direct link you to the exact item!

 

A good pair of jeans is a necessity in anyone's closet. I usually do not say you need anything, but everyone deserves at least one amazing pair of jeans.


I seriously am in love with these jeans. I bought one pair (influenced by one of my favorite instagram bloggers!) and wore the heck out of them, convincing me I should go and get a couple more pairs. I absolutely love these jeans, and personally think they are so flattering on any body type. They are comfortable, unlike many skinny jeans I have worn, have just the right amount of room so that they make you look relaxed, yet still feminine, and hug you in all the right places.


A very forgiving jean style, mom jeans just always make me feel stylish while remaining true to my personal style. The American Eagle brand has got to be the best style of this type of jean that I have ever tried, and I think everyone who loves mom jeans could benefit from having a pair (or three, lol) of these in their closet!


I have the washes: Cold Water Rinse (pictured), Blue Path, and Uber Cool. And I generally wait for when AE is having a BOGO sale on jeans to get one pair half-off, to make these jeans a more affordable option!


IMPORTANT NOTE: Some washes have a hole in the butt /upper thigh region, which I am very not into for myself personally, so before purchasing these jeans, make sure you are aware of the hole situation, as not every wash has the same amount of distressing.


I have to admit, I thought girls who wore blazers and jeans were the coolest and most fashionable people out there, and now I am a girl who wears blazers and jeans, ha! I seriously wish I would have had the courage to try this style earlier, because boy does it fit me! I think every woman should be living her best life in her favorite blazer! I do not care what you are doing, whether you are going grocery shopping or giving the most important presentation of your life, you will do it as your best self as soon as you put a blazer on.


Blazers make you look so put together and cohesive, while quite honestly not putting in a ton of effort. The rest of your outfit, a simple tshirt and jeans, maybe some heels or booties, maybe sneakers depending on the occasion, is not overly fancy, add a blazer, and you automatically look beautiful and capable, effortlessly. Truly you are beautiful and capable without the blazer, but I think the clothes we wear sometimes can bring out our potential that we have on the inside if we allow them to. So channel your inner Elle Woods and add a blazer to your wardrobe (but if you don't know who Elle Woods is, first things first, watch Legally Blonde, you don't know what you're missing), or if you like this one, go snag it from Old Navy's website. It has become my favorite piece of clothing, and one of my surprisingly more versatile pieces.


Taking it back to my old room in my college house with my absolute goddesses of housemates <3 I have no idea why I thought his filter was a good idea when I took this picture, so my apologies. However, it is a good example of how I love to style my jean jacket! I think everyone should own a jean jacket, because you can literally wear it any season of the year, to almost any event, and with almost any style of outfit. It is the equivalent to wearing jeans; dress it up, dress it down, and can be worn most anywhere.


I have the American Eagle jean jacket and I love love love it. I have owned it for like 5 or so years and still wear it like it's going out of style (but that's the beauty of it, it is timeless and therefore will never go out of style!)


I like to pair my jean jacket with another wash of denim for a Canadian Tuxedo look (look it up if you are unfamiliar with this term, it is truly iconic). You can literally wear jean jackets with anything however, so find your own unique style if jean on jean doesn't suit your taste!



Reference the last picture, because in all honesty these are my all time favorite booties. It is kind of funny considering I bought these things in a rush at Forever 21 as part of a halloween costume my junior year of college when I was going as a deer and needed shoes to look like hooves, ha! Truthfully that was one of my best halloween costumes, and the Forever 21 boots have gotten so much wear it is ridiculous!


I linked a similar pair from Forever 21, since the original pair is not still sold, however, I promise you that if you get a good pair of basic booties, you will never stop wearing them. For us gals that live in winter climates especially, it is hard to be functionally fashionable. I introduce to you the block-heeled bootie. So easy to walk in (I brought these booties with me to France and walked probably miles a day on them, and not once did my feet get sore!) True champions on my walks to school in the dead of winter last year from my college house to campus, these boots are amazing. It shocks me they are from Forever 21 honestly! They are easy to walk in, keep my feet pretty warm, and are comfortable while remaining stylish.


Basic booties should be part of your closet, as they style well with almost any type of outfit, and all around are a closet staple for the fall and winter months of the year. Go grab yourself a pair of basic booties in a neutral tone, and they will pull together all of your fall & winter outfits!


Truly, a simple cardigan/duster goes a long way! I cannot find this specific cardigan I am wearing in this picture, however, I linked a similar option, in the form of a duster I actually like better than the one I have!


The beauty of a tan-toned piece like this, is that it transitions into any season. I love to pair this cardigan with jeans, a basic tee, and booties in the fall and winter months, as well as toss this thing on over shorts and a tank top on chillier summer evenings out to eat or with friends. I own a lot of cardigans & dusters, but I chose this one as a staple piece because it is my absolute favorite, and by far the most worn cardigan I own! If the one linked is not your style, I recommend finding one that is a lighter cotton blend as well as a neutral tone such as a tan or a grey, ensuring it will be versatile enough to transition between all of the seasons of the year.


Whatever your style, I think that these five pieces will fit into it beautifully. Simplistic and versatile pieces are my absolute favorite, and make fantastic staples to any closet, with the potential to mold to everyone's individual style, which makes them a universal "must-have" in my book. It is important to remember that you do not need anything on this list, or on anyone else's list. The goal of this post is to show you pieces that you can buy to prevent you from buying all of the other things! If you have a piece that never goes out of style (all of them in this post), then you will be investing in something lasting, which in my opinion is always worth it. So if you are looking to add a staple to your closet, try one of the pieces mentioned in this post, or add your own staple.


The world is your canvas, your personal style and how you choose to show up is your own unique art form. Create beautifully.


you are blessed. you are gifted. you are loved and appreciated, just as you are.


mindfully, molli

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page