top of page

NCLEX

Updated: Jul 2, 2020

So I know what you're thinking, senior nursing student in your last semester of four long and hard years of school. You worked your tail off to get through the nursing program, you have reached the imaginary finish line you put in front of yourself, and finally, you are graduating. So now what? You have to take the NCLEX. While the rest of your pals are celebrating the fact that they have not another exam, maybe ever, you have boards, and they are terrifying. But I promise you that if you made it through the emotional rollercoaster of nursing school, you can pass this test.


I was so terrified to take the NCLEX, not because I thought it might be the hardest test I would take, because I knew I had taken harder exams than this would be. I wasn't scared because I didn't think I was smart, because I made it through school, so I must know something. I wasn't scared because no one else in my class was passing it, because in fact, it seemed like they all were. I was afraid I would fail. Not because I didn't know anything, but because I am my own worst enemy, and I did not feel ready, even up to the time I was checking in to take the dang thing. If this is the case for you, you will pass. Even if you have to take it again, one test does not determine how good of a nurse you will be. No matter what happens, you will be okay. But my goodness, I was so scared, and I passed, and you will too, so please just believe in yourself. Trust your education. Trust your skills and the time you put into earning this degree, because I promise you, you can do this. You are amazing, strong, smart, and resilient, and the NCLEX has nothing on you.


All words my parents & friends were saying to me before I took the exam, words that are no less true for you.



Okay, pep talk over! So, the number one question I had going into this exam was how do I study? I am going to share what I did, although it may not work for everyone, it worked for me. The most important thing to remember is to not adopt some wacko study skill to try to pass this. Utilize the skills you adopted and perfected when in nursing school, and you will be successful.


However, I think a universal piece of advice that works for everyone taking the exam is to do practice questions. I used ATI, other classmates I talked to were using UWorld, either way, we both ended up passing in the same amount of questions, so I do not think it makes a darn bit of difference, personally, which company you choose. I also did free review sessions offered by Hurst Review, and I found those extremely helpful!

I would do practice exams on ATI in 50 questions increments, then go back through the exam and read through all of the rationales and explantations, for questions I got wrong AND right. I cannot stress this enough, that even the questions you get correct can help you learn something new, or strengthen and reinforce information previously learned. I did this twice a day, every day for about 2 weeks, taking weekends a little easier. I also went through my comprehensive ATI review book cover to cover and asking my family members to quiz me with the practice exams in the book. I found it extremely helpful to do both of these things, questions and intensive chapter-by-chapter studying, to help me learn what my strengths and weaknesses were to direct my future studying.


The next piece of advice I would give you is to not overthink. I know, that is pretty much impossible for me, and probably for you too, but overthinking will not help you on your exam, I promise. The number of questions does not matter, the type of questions do not matter, and the time it takes you to finish does not matter. The NCLEX is seriously so mysterious and weird, that no one really knows how to rationalize a common theme of pass vs fail, you just take it and do your best not to overthink and overanalyze your progress. Whether you get 60 questions or 130 questions (the new COVID-19 numbers), it does not indicate whether or not you passed or failed. If you get all "easy" or "hard" questions, it does not mean you passed or failed. I completely psyched myself out on this one, and honestly walked out of the exam thinking I failed it, only to find out I passed! So do not overthink, just do your best and trust in your abilities.


The day of the exam try to eat a good meal, get yourself a coffee, go for a walk, or call a friend to get your mind off of the test, and trust you studied like you should have and that no matter what happens, you are giving this test your best. That goes for after the exam as well. I took mine at 6:30pm on a Friday, left the center, came home and poured myself a glass of wine and sat on my deck and watched the sunset. Because it was over. I did my best. And so will you.

 

So in summary:

  • Resources to use: ATI, UWorld, Hurst Review

  • Stick to your study style, not anyone else's

  • Do as many practice questions as you can, and do your best on them, treating them like the real NCLEX

  • Read ALL rationales, even for the questions you get correct

  • Do not read into the question number or style you get: it is not an indication of your passing/failing

  • Trust yourself, your education, and your abilities

  • Just do your very best

  • Try to relax & take care of yourself the day of the exam

  • After it is over, know you cannot change it and do something for you

  • I know you will pass, but you have to believe that for yourself.

you are blessed. you are gifted. you are loved and appreciated, just as you are.


mindfully, molli

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page