top of page

Homemade Powder Laundry Detergent

Updated: Apr 5, 2020


This laundry detergent recipe (referred to me by several friends who use it regularly) was so simple, the ingredients easy to find, and is better for the environment, reducing your plastic waste by no longer purchasing detergent in large plastic jugs, as well as better for sensitive skin with no perfumes or dyes.


For my recipe I used:

- one 4 lb. box of baking soda

- one 4 lb. box of super washing soda

- one 4 lb. box of borax

- three bars of ivory soap


All of these ingredients I found at Walmart, with the ingredients on the same shelf in the laundry detergent section, while the ivory soap bars were found in the soap section for your bathroom.


You simply put the 3 ivory soap bars in a food processor (I used my ninja blender), adding some borax, baking soda, and/or superwashing soda into the blender with the soap otherwise the soap gets very sticky and clumpy! Once you get the soap blended to a powdered consistency, simply add the remainder of your 4 lb. boxes of baking soda, superwashing soda, and borax and mix it all together in a big pot or bucket. At this point you can add some essential oil, I chose lavender, or you do not need to add any scent at all.


This recipe made a little less than 2 gallons of detergent, which I split with my mom. When done, the consistency should look like so:

You can leave the detergent in an ice cream pail to reuse it, or any gallon sized container. My mom and I chose to order plastic jars off of Amazon, although a glass jar would be best if you are making this for environmental purposes, if you are not a klutz like me ha!


You can use about 2 tablespoons per load of laundry (a coffee scoop full). I hope you all enjoy making this cost efficient, environmentally conscious, and fragrance-free laundry detergent!



you are blessed. you are gifted. you are loved and appreciated, just as you are.


mindfully, molli


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page